JapShow Finale
spacer spacer spacer

JapShow Finale 2015 Report, Video & Gallery

Read the Japshow Finale report below, view photos on the Gallery and watch the highlights video.

Gallery spacer

Japshow Finale 2015 Photo Gallery
View more photos from Japshow Finale 2015 on the official FaceBook Gallery.

Club Stand spacer RWYB spacer Stunt Display spacer Club Stand

Japshow Finale 2015 Video

Japshow Finale 2015 Report

JapShow Finale 2015 was an absolute corker and with a bumper attendance it was the perfect way to round off the 2015 show season. Champions were crowned and awards were won both on and off the track.

There was a last minute change to the programme as the FireForce 3 Jet Funny Car was subbed out for the more aerodynamic FireForce 5 Jet Dragster but none of us could predict what we were about to witness. Martin Hill and the team produced a stunning new PB of 5.16 at an astonishing 288mph.

The Millers Oils Jap & Competition Clutch FWD Drag Series’ reached their conclusion over the weekend and a number of titles went down to the wire.

The FWD title was already settled coming into this round but the runner up spot was hotly contested. A pretty dominant performance saw Paul Atkinson secure the runner up spot. Paul took the  number 1 qualifier position with a 10.05, getting ever closer to that magic 9 second ET, before going on to defeat Ben Dalgleish in the final.

The Jap Drag Series Street class came down to the very final run where the championship was to be decided between the 2 Skylines of Jeff Ludgate and David Greenhalgh. Greenhalgh led the way after qualifying by just under 2 tenths.  won by David Greenhalgh in his GTR34 Skyline.

Details at www.fwddragseries.co.uk and www.japdragseries.co.uk.

Drag Racing spacer Drag Racing spacer

Competition Clutch FWD Drag Series
Winner Paul Atkinson, runner-up Ben Dalgleish

Drag Racing spacer Drag Racing spacer

Millers Oils Jap Drag Series- Pro Class
Winner Gary Gooding, Runner-up Mark Moseley

Drag Racing spacer Drag Racing spacer

Millers Oils Jap Drag Series- Street Class
Winner David Greenhalgh, runner-up Jeff Ludgate

The Live Action Arena was thriving all day long with drift rides from some professional drivers plus a live action showcase with some mammoth jumps from the Podzilla Monster truck as well as the Broke FMX motocross team. There Santa Pod drift car was also burning rubber with Michelle Westby at the helm and there was a precision drifting display from the Maltese trio of Team Maximum Lock.

As usual, the Show & Shine provided the customary headaches for the judges due to the extremely high quality of entries which resulted in, what could be, some controversial decisions:

Best of Show spacer Best of Show spacer

Best In Show
Mitch Lewis
Toyota Hilux
In what was probably a controversial decision Best in Show was awarded to this custom “mini monster truck”. What really won this Hilux points was the face that the underneath of this car was on the same level as the bodywork!

2nd spacer 2nd spacer

2nd in Show
Wayne Durose
Wayne’s Subaru was a great all round car with mods in all the right places but the custom hydro-dipping touches is what really caught the judges attention.

3rd spacer 3rd spacer

3rd in Show
Alan Moss
Subaru WRX STI
This mint Subaru had the whole package with tidy boot installs, pristine exterior, interior and spotless engine bay.

Retro spacer Retro spacer

Best Retro
Derrick Burgess
Datsun 280ZX
Derrick Burgess is a frequent winner of the best Retro class here at Santa Pod and since the full restoration undergone, the car has been kept in pristine nick.

Judges spacer Judges spacer

Judges Choice
Nissan Elgrand Rider S
This awesome minivan featured modern mods with a wicked retro twist. Sticking your head in the back of this van was like taking a trip to 80’s Japan.

Bike spacer Bike spacer

Best Bike
Rich Heil
Kawasaki ZX14R
The Best Bike class saw only 3 entries but Rich deservedly ended up on top of the pile. This 215bhp pocket rocket was sporting a full fairing facelift conversion with full respray and more.

The RWYB was non-stop all day long with almost every Japanese vehicle you can think of putting pedal to the metal and hitting the ¼ mile. The competition was fierce and the overall winners had to produce some incredible times to secure the trophies:

RWYB spacer spacer spacer

Class A
Nissan / Datsun / Infiniti
Jamie Lumley
8.7197 @ 160.21mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class B
Toyota / Lexus
Jake Fitzpatrick
11.3634 @ 126.50mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class C
Honda / Acura
Marc Hadfield
12.0864 @ 133.32mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class D
Mitsubishi / Proton
Jed Jefferson
10.3138 @ 145.71mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class E
Peter Hardy
10.9180 @ 131.78mph

RWYB spacer spacer spacer

Class F
Richard Thomas Davis
13.0572 @ 105.44mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class G
Suzuki / Daihatsu / Isuzu
Jeff Whitbrock
13.1673 @ 112.23mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class H
Jap Bikes
Jason Grayshon
9.9914 @ 150.12mph

RWYB spacer RWYB spacer

Class X
Non Road Legal (inc. cars on slicks) and Non Jap Cars, Non Jap Bikes and Demo Cars & Bikes
Francis Garcia
8.3923 @ 168.56mph

The winner of the Podkhana competition was Dmitrij Sribnyj in his Subaru.

Handling spacer Handling spacer

Winner Dmitrij Sribnyj - Subaru 

Thanks to all of the racers, car clubs and spectators who came to JapShow Finale, we look forward to seeing you back next year!

Home / What's On
2017 Tickets
Reports / Galleries
Phone Apps
Essential Info
Exhibitors Packs
Santa Pod Raceway
Facebook spacer Youtube
Twitter spacer Instagram
Japanese Performance
Santa Pod Raceway spacer